Posts Tagged ‘hypocrite’

Running Gag

July 25, 2022

Running Gag

James Dator of sports website SB Nation calculated that Sedition Caucus Senator Josh Hawley ran a 7.2 second 40-yard dash on January 6, 2021 while fleeing for his life from the MAGA mob he saluted earlier.


“Run Hawley Run’: Video of Josh Hawley fleeing Jan. 6 rioters sparks memes,” Jonathan Edwards, Washington Post

“Republican Josh Hawley fled January 6 rioters – and Twitter ran with it,” Martin Pengelly, The Guardian

“Josh Hawley Fleeing Capitol Rioters Gets a Britney Spears, Kate Bush & Monty Python Soundtrack,” Joe Lynch, Billboard


“Hawley Concerned That Being a Coward Is Overshadowing His Work as a Fascist,” Andy Borowitz, The New Yorker


Short link:

Image mashed-up by Mike Licht, Copies here.

Comments are welcome if they are on-topic, substantive, concise, and not boring or obscene. Comments may be edited for clarity and length.


Lindsey Graham, Man of His Word

September 21, 2020

Lindsey Graham, Man of His Word

South Carolina’s Senatorial Trump toady Lindsey Graham once professed to be a man of principle. In 2016, when President Obama nominated Judge Merritt Garland to the Supreme Court, Mr. Graham pontificated:

“I want you to use my words against me. If there’s a Republican president … and a vacancy occurs in the last year of the first term, you can say Lindsey Graham said let’s let the next president, whoever it might be, make that nomination.”

In 2018, he further specified:

“If an opening comes in the last year of President Trump’s term, and the primary process has started, we’ll wait to the next election.”

In 2020, now that a Supreme Court vacancy has opened six weeks before the election, however, he says he will support confirming Mr. Trump’s nominee to fill the vacancy created by the death of Justice Ginsburg. Mr. Graham says this time is different, probably because he’s in a tight re-election race himself.

Surprise! Lindsey Graham is not the only GOP hypocrite in the senate who pledged not to confirm a Supreme Court nominee during an election year. Cory Gardner, John Cornyn, Ted Cruz, Marco Rubio, Jim Inhofe, Chuck Grassley, Joni Ernst, Thom Tillis, David Perdue, Tim Scott, Ron Johnson, Pat Toomey, Richard Burr, Roy Blunt, John Hoeven, and Rob Portman did as well.