Winner: Murkowski. Certifed Sore Loser: Miller.

Winner: Murkowski. Certifed Sore Loser: Miller.

Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) has been certified as the winner of November’s U.S. Senate election in Alaska. It took this long because her Tea Party challenger, Joe Miller, won the Republican primary and, after Murkowski beat him in a write-in campaign, he took to the courts to protest the people’s choice. Among other spurious grounds, the challenger sought to discount write-in ballots with slight variations of the name “Murkowski,” an easy claim if your name is M-I-L-L-E-R. The U.S. district court ruled otherwise. The name of the judge who issued the ruling:  Ralph Best Biest Beistline.


Image by Mike Licht. Download a copy here. Creative Commons license; credit Mike Licht,

Comments are welcome if they are on-topic, substantive, concise, and not boring or obscene. Comments may be edited for clarity and length.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: